My Journey and Progress

I was always a decent shooter growing up, which was what kept me on the team in junior high in the first place, I guess. kids weren’t really that good at that age, none of us really have the power to consistently shoot from behind the arc. What I really enjoyed the most, was just shooting hoops in the neighborhood court, it was my court.

As I entered high school, I was around 5 ‘6 and most of the guy on my team really started to growing bigger and taller. My shot was still wasn’t strong enough to shoot consistently well from long range to cement a place among the regular line up. And with the players getting bigger, strong and faster, my game was losing its edge. At the start of the season I found myself being more of a bench player. In my freshman year, that’s when I quit basketball.

You can call me a late bloomer, over the summer between my sophomore and junior year; I had a huge growth spurt, pushing my height to 5’ 11. During a pick up session with some of the guys on the team, I found something I didn’t have in the past years: a clean line of sight. Everything really does change when there is no fear of getting your shots blocked. With more elevation, shooting was a lot easier around the paint compared to before. You never lose your jump shot. That was when I decided to give basketball one more go.

I spent the entire summer in the gym working on various aspects of my game, after falling so behind my teammates. That’s also when I decided to train for more elevation. My role on the team was moved to more towards the hoop as I was playing small forward. I was stronger and taller physically….but still not enough to compete in the paint. I was up against giants. We had 1 guy on the team that was dunking regularly in practice, but just couldn’t bring it out during games. This was because he was our man scoring threat and was well looked after during games. He was around 6’4 tall and real lanky. But he never really needed to dunk, maybe because nobody could stop his post moves anyways.

Being able to dunk in games was a demonstration of power. Occasionally, the opposing teams had guys that could cherry pick us and made it look like something from streetball. It was the most helpless feeling watching someone get past you and throw it down past your teammates. They would snatch the ball in the air and finish off an alley hoop. We were helpless.

I started trying out various exercise routines on the internet and go a pair of power soles. These were supposed to strengthen the calf muscles. Now, I was already touching the backboard and could grab the net, so I wasn’t far off. But my body just wasn’t prepared for such a load. I tore my calf in the middle of the season from overstraining myself. That finished my season. I vowed to recover and get better over the summer to finish off my high school basketball career by being able to dunk. Enter in Hang Time Workout

Before my senior year, I talked to various trainers in the gym on how to improve my vertical, but no one can come up with anything specific. The trainers would tell me to work on my squat and stretching, and the other players would tell me stick with exercising my legs and calves. None of it made sense, as I work out regularly anyways. My body was developed after spending so much time practicing and hitting the gym. What was missing was the last 10 inches of vertical. While I was playing ball one afternoon with one of my friends and his older brother, I was shocked at how he was able to dunk… for an Asian guy at 5’9. So I asked him what program he used and his training methods. At first he didn’t want to deal with me, but through some persistence, he divulged every bit of his regiment. Because of his biomechanics and athletics background, he was able to predict and measure precisely his workout results. He kept the ones that were effective and trimmed off the ones that didn’t work. By knowing which specific exercises worked and didn’t, he created an algorithm, a blueprint to become superhuman and dunk.

The results were astounding, after my first dunk, I couldn’t stop. The results were paying off during my last season, which was better late than never. But the opportunity to dunk in real games was quite limited. I would practice alley hoops and tomahawks, but it was hard to gain any real run up and momentum for my dunk. Because I always had to help in rebounding, I never got loose on the fast break and gained momentum to jump. Whenever I tried to force it by driving in the paint, my timing was off and would always mistime the jump. It was a mental roadblock.

On the fourth game of the year, we were up against our division and cross town rivals. It was always a mad scramble in the paint for us as we tried to control the boards. As shots were heaved up mindlessly, and I took my position under the net and boxed out for the offensive board. I felt there was a force pulling me in towards the basket. I leaped up and rose above the crowd. And then threw the ball back down the hoop. That was my first dunk in a game and it was the best feeling ever. Not a bad way to finish off my high school career. And like I said, once you start, you can stop. Dunks were getting easier to execute in games as there wasn’t the mental pressure to do them. My teammates knew where and when to find me: on the fast break ready to dunk….

This training method changed my life and it can change yours too. I’m not sure I can make it any sweeter than sharing it with you. I want you to experience a new level of success in your game and do things you can only dream of.

